Media (Intel® Video Processing Library, Intel Media SDK)
Access community support with transcoding, decoding, and encoding in applications using media tools like Intel® oneAPI Video Processing Library and Intel® Media SDK
Announcements
The Intel Media SDK project is no longer active. For continued support and access to new features, Intel Media SDK users are encouraged to read the transition guide on upgrading from Intel® Media SDK to Intel® Video Processing Library (VPL), and to move to VPL as soon as possible.
For more information, see the VPL website.

Proper use of asynchronous decoding

dr_asik
Beginner

Hello, I am studying the Media SDK using the provided sample_decode application. One thing that strikes me as odd is the use of the MFXVideoDECODE::DecodeFrameAsync() and MFXVideoSession::SyncOperation(). Indeed, if I understand well, the code boils down to this (in CDecodingPipeline::RunDecoding()):

1. Start async decode operation

2. If it doesn't return any error, wait for it to finish

3. Goto 1 until all data is decoded

It seems counter-productive to start an asynchronous operation only to block immediately after. It also doesn't seem possible to register a callback to know when the operation completes exactly. Basically this looks like very inefficient code. I have experience with the NVCUVID decoder and the typical setup is to have two threads, one that feeds encoded frames and one that consumes decoded frames; the producer thread is always waiting on the decoder to signal that a surface is available for decoding, so the decoder can always be working at full potential. Is it possible to work with the Intel Media SDK decoder in such a way?

0 Kudos
3 Replies
Petter_L_Intel
Employee

Hi,