Media (Intel® Video Processing Library, Intel Media SDK)
Access community support with transcoding, decoding, and encoding in applications using media tools like Intel® oneAPI Video Processing Library and Intel® Media SDK
Announcements
The Intel Media SDK project is no longer active. For continued support and access to new features, Intel Media SDK users are encouraged to read the transition guide on upgrading from Intel® Media SDK to Intel® Video Processing Library (VPL), and to move to VPL as soon as possible.
For more information, see the VPL website.

VPP Incompatible video parameters

Harris_G_
Novice

Hi.

I'm a developer and I'm trying to do a HW implementation of VPP and ENCODER from the Intel Media SDK.

I'm capturing the screen of my laptop (so the format is RGB4) and in order to encode to H.264, the format has to be changed to NV12 which is the native format of the SDK. Having seen the tutorials (especially simple_6_encode - d3d - vpp_preproc) and used them as a guide, I initialize the SDK sessions of VPP and ENCODE and everything seems to be fine. The problem appears when I'm in the actual processing of VPP, so since the format conversion is failing, the encoding is not happening as well. To give you an idea of what's going on here is the code:

http://pastebin.com/QPEpCP7t

It consists of an init and an encode function. As you will see in the init function, the SDK sessions are initialized with a HW implementation. The VPP and ENCODER parameters are set up and finally, memory blocks are allocated for the surfaces. Untill this point when I'm debugging, I'm not getting any errors at all, not even warnings. But, when the program reaches the main loop of VPP and ENCODING I get status code -14 which is Incompatible video parameters.

So to recap, the input is 1920*1080p RGB4 and if the resolution is bigger than that I want to scale down to 1920*1080p and convert to NV12 as well in order to feed the encoder. Can anyone tell me where did I go wrong?

Regards