Media (Intel® Video Processing Library, Intel Media SDK)
Access community support with transcoding, decoding, and encoding in applications using media tools like Intel® oneAPI Video Processing Library and Intel® Media SDK
Announcements
The Intel Media SDK project is no longer active. For continued support and access to new features, Intel Media SDK users are encouraged to read the transition guide on upgrading from Intel® Media SDK to Intel® Video Processing Library (VPL), and to move to VPL as soon as possible.
For more information, see the VPL website.

oneVPL - huge functionality reduction

Frantisek_K_
Beginner

Hello,

I have been using Intel Media SDK for several years in video application on Windows.
I used it for encoding/decoding of MPEG2, H.264 AVC, H.264 MVC-3D (particularly this one is important for me), VC1 (decoding only), and HEVC latest. I.e. all formats which are used to encode Bluray disks. And it worked well till release 2019.

OneVPL is declared as next generation of Media SDK - so I tried the hello-examples in standard implementation. Standard implementation has clear advantage: it runs (even slower) on any Intel-CPU, not limited to particular GPU family.

And I got scared!  It has enormous reduction of functionality!

oneVPL in software implementation (which is supposed to run on any Intel-based PC) does NOT support:

MPEG2 - neither decoding, neither encoding(!)
H.264 AVC - only decoding but no encoding(!)
H.264 MVC-3D - neither decoding, neither encoding(!)
VC1 - no decoding

Frankly, this means dead-end for upgrade from Intel Media SDK.
Without these standard codecs I cannot use oneVPL.
(And I guess other users will share the same opinion)

Could you please clarify the situation and future evolution/plans to assure that all these standard codecs will be supported?

Thanks

Frank

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies
JyothisV_Intel

Hi,

Good day to you.