Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12599 Discussions

Accessing memory in user logic

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi everybody 

I am new to NIOS and has been learning how to control a system but is encountering some difficulties. 

I have added a VGA system to the NIOSII system and is trying to verify if it's working by outputting "Hello world".  

The strings hello world is stored in a RAM which has its own memory map in the VGA system. 

when trying to run in C, I got really confused at this point.. 

Since I am writing to this RAM, the address it takes is definitely  

different from the base address of the entire VGA system added.  

eg. The 'H' char is stored at address 9203 of the RAM. 

but the base address of the peripheral is 0x01800000 (VGA_BASE , from system.h) 

Could anyone please give me a hint to how to write to the address of the RAM that I am interested in ? 

Thank you !
0 Kudos
12 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Just add the offset to the base address of the memory area. 

There are a variety of ways of doing it, you also probably want to bypass any data cache as well. 

Personally I would use a C structure (or maybe an array in this case) that describes the IO locations and either set a C pointer to the address (0x81800000 to get cache bypass) or get the linker to assign the absolute address to a symbol.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thank you! 

I tried to use the function IOWR_32DIRECT(VGA_BASE,offset,'H'); 

to see if I can write H to address 9203 

but had no luck.. 

I will try to use pointer but isnt the pointer doing the same thing as the above function?  

Thank you again.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Probably - that function will expand to a 'stio', but I'm not sure how the offset is applied.