Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

Adding a custom component

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi all, 

I am new to Nios and embedded designing. I have the design files for Nios-II system built for Nios development kit 1C20. I obtained this system from Altera. I want to edit this system using SOPC builder and include a custom HDL component.  

This is just for getting started. The custom component is a simple 32b counter. I want to route the MSBs of the counter register to the LEDs on the board. I want to start the counter using some software instruction. 

Can someone please help me with this. I have gone through the Quartus-II handbook, Vol 4, SOPC builder. But I am not able to understand how I can do the above. 

thanks in advance, 

rajesh
0 Kudos
4 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

From the the Nios,you just want to initiate the counter by start command and then counter (i.e. upcounter) will be starting to increment and then you want MSBs on LEDs, continusouly with the respective values of the counter,right? 

If this is correct then it is pretty easy,Just map ur output MSBs (24 to 31 or any bits u want) on LEDs (i.e assign those bits to LED pins). 

But choice of number of MSBs depends on clock frequency otherwise you will not be able to see the changes on LEDs ( as it will be so fast) 

Ex : for 50MHz clock,you should map from bit (26:31) on LED ( i.e 2^25 / 50M = 0.67 sec). 

Like this,you can choose ur bits and increament counter and keep MSBs mapping on LEDs. 

Hope you understood.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi Supal, 

Thank you very much for the response. You have understood my requirement correctly. But the solution you have provided is not elaborate.