Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12589 Discussions

Altera Cyclone V: UDP data transfer without packet loss

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Dear all, 

I am a newbie in Altera Cyclone V SOC. 

We are conducting a feasibility study on our Altera Cyclone V SOC.  

We are having some streaming data receiving at FPGA at 300 Megabits per second. 

We have to transfer this data without any packet loss to a server machine over WiFi connection. 

UDP client application works on Altera SOC and server application works on an Ubuntu desktop machine. 

Initially we tried out a sample UDP_client and UDP_Server application which sends hardcoded buffer of data [from user space only. Not data read from FPGA via kernel space] to measure the maximum data rate over WiFi. 

We got the range of 250Mbps to 500Mbps. [Without tuning and tuning some network parameters as suggested in the link [https://opensourceforu.com/2016/10/network-performance-monitoring/

We are running Angstrom Linux supplied by Altera (Linux kernel version 4.9). 

Two methods we have tried out already. 

Method 1:- FPGA is programmed to write the streaming data to DDR memory.  

We have written a character driver, tried out interrupt driven approach (one interrupt in every 1 ms). 

From the ISR, we have woke up a read() method of our character driver which copies the 30K buffer available in DDR memory in every 1ms to user space. (copy_to_user()). 

From the user application, we used sendto() method for UDP transfer. We found out that periodically packets gets lost. 

Method 2:- FPGA is programmed to write the streaming data to DDR memory every 1ms to a reserved 1MB space and a register is available which tracks the number of packets already written (Erase on read type programmed).