Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12603 Discussions

[Arria 10] Implementation of a PCI Express "Host" solution

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello everyone, 

I am currently a trainee in a company and I am working on the implementation of a host PCI Express solution on an FPGA device. 

My knowledge of PCI Express protocol specifications is limited. I am becoming familiar with the features of the standard. 

Nevertheless, a first question came to me: 

I perfectly understood the PCI Express topology: a "host" part composed of a CPU and a Root Complex, and another part grouping the various "endpoints". 

My research on the internet allowed me to see that many IPs existed to be able to set up a PCI Express communication between a PC "host" and an FPGA "endpoint" and vice versa. 

My goal here is to implement a PCI Express design on an FPGA device so that it communicates with another FPGA, without having to use a CPU. 

The FPGA has to embark a design "host" and Root Complex (if I understand the specifications of the standard PCI Express). 

In other words, I do not want my first FPGA to communicate with the second through the CPU but these FPGAs communicate directly via PCI Express directly. 

Is this only possible? I have not yet found any information about this on the internet and I would like to have an opinion on the feasibility of such a project. 

PS: I'm working on an Intel / Altera Arria FPGA 10. 

Thank you, 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- 

Salut tout le monde,  

Je suis actuellement stagiaire dans une société et travaille sur l'implémentation d'une solution PCI Express hôte sur un composant FPGA.