Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

Blinking LED - stays on

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I was trying to use NIOS to get an LED to blink over a set period. However, everytime the code is loaded the LED stays on. 

After a couple of hours of troubleshooting I added a print statement for the hell of it and the LED started blinking. Commeting out the print statement the behavior reverted back to what it was before. 

I don't see anything wrong with the code, so I doubt that is the problem. I am guessing my SOPC is messed up somewhere but I don't know where it could be.  

My SOPC has: 

1 - pio (input) 

1 - pio (output) 

JTAG interface 

onboard memory (RAM 8 kB) 

SD Card interface 

I am just learning VHDL, Nios, and SOPC, so right now this has been the most complicated system I have created thus far 

--------------------------------------------------------------- 

# include "System.h"# include "altera_avalon_pio_regs.h"# include <stdio.h># include "sys/alt_stdio.h" 

int main() 

{  

//alt_putstr("Hello from Nios II!\n"); 

int count = 0; 

int delay = 0; 

/* Event loop never exits. */ 

while (1) 

IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_PIO_DATA(LEDS_BASE, count & 0x01) ; 

delay = 0; 

while( delay < 10000) 

delay++; 

count++; 

//alt_putstr("Hello from Nios II!\n"); 

return 0; 

}
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Your LED is probably blinking but you can't see it because the frequency is very high. 

Adding the print call adds a delay greater than the while loop, so the frequency decreases to a "visible" range. 

Make this test: force the LED always on and you'll see a higher light intensity.