Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12603 Discussions

Cyclone V SoC Devkit problems compiling Angstrom kernel

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello to everyone. 

I’m a doctorate of the department of Electronics Engineering of the University of Modena and Reggio Emilia (Italy) and I’m working in collaboration with a company in Bologna (Italy). This company gave me an Altera Cyclone V SOC Development Kit (already used by others inside the company, but I made sure it was brought back in the factory settings depicted by the user manual). 

I have to admit that I’m pretty new to Linux, and I have little knowledge about the way operating systems work (much more about how a transistor works or is made). I have followed no one course in my academic career about how to bother with operating systems compilations. I instead have a good knowledge about C language and a sufficient knowledge about assembly and matlab. And, as you will have noticed, not being a native speaker, even my English is not perfect: sorry for that.  

I work on Ubuntu 14.04 LTS operating in a virtual machine (VirtualBox version 5.2.12) running on Windows 8.1 operating in my laptop; Ubuntu is updated to the latest version and also all the packages installed. 

Using the included SDcard image (with Angstrom Linux) and all the factory settings the kit works just fine, with no particular trouble.  

Now, in the last weeks I was slavishly following the “getting started” guides available at rocketboards.org for the 17.1 toolkit (at the time when I have started 18.0 was not yet delivered).