Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

DMA & Interrupt Problems...

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm a newbie in Nios, and my English is not to good, but in this forum i found some topics to control NiosII device like pio, timer, uart by Nios syntax, but few topic about to teach me about dma & interrupt, so when i want to control dma & interrupt, i can't do it , and i found in kernel's system.h file didn't have include about this file, now i am so confuse , maybe i am wrong way to control it , so i think maybe it need to use uclinux syntax to control the device , not use nios syntax, but i really don't know what show i do , could anyone can give me some suggests or example to that me know what to do. Thank you.

0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I haven't tested DMA myself but for IRQ you can just use the linux kernel functions.  

With a call to request_irq you can register your Interrupt service routine.  

Make sure to do this from kernel-space (a kernel module or compiled in the kernel) "normal" userspace programs can't (and shouldn't) recieve IRQ's. 

Iirc someone on this forum uses the kernel functions for DMA-transfers, maybe you can find the thread. 

Greetz wgoossens 

P.S.: Don't worry about your english!
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi,  

a little code snippet to play with dma. it works in userspace without an interrupt. This is dirty style and works without Kernel and interrupt. If you understand (read the dma chapter in the pdf about the peripheral) how it works, it will be easy to do this with kernel functions in a driver. You can find the kernel functions in 

$(KERNEL_PLUGIN)\linux-2.6.x\arch\nios2nommu\kernel\dma.c