Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

Device tree support

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm new to Linux/Altera but I know well Linux on another FPGA manufacturer (I will not give its name here, I don't want to be banned :D ). 

I don't know if community is active here or in alterawiki, so I try to post in both places. 

I have some issues with device tree support in the latest nios2-linux-20100621.tar. 

I explain it in the discussion page of the alterawiki : 

The page : alterawiki.com/wiki/Devicetree 

Then click on discussion tab 

Thank you for your help 

--------------------------- 

PS : I can't put full links here so here is my post on devicetree discussion : 

Hi, 

I wish to use device tree for kernel compilation. I use the latest version of nios2-linux : nios2-linux-20100621.tar that I update using ./update script 

This page says :  

NiosII board configuration ---> (X) Generic devicetree based NiosII system Processor type and features --> Devicetree support (full_path_to_your_dts) Devicetree source file But in my nios2-linux version there is no menu called "Processor type and features"  

I have just : 

Linux/NiosII Configuration ---> MMU support NiosII board configuration ---> NiosII specific compiler options ---> Devicetree support Catch alignment trap Kernel executes from (RAM) ---> But no place to put the Devicetree source file. 

Does device-tree is not supported in this version ? Do I need to take an older version ? Or maybe I do something wrong to have no "Processor type and features" configuration page... 

Best regards
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I have been using the "test-nios2" branch from the nos2-linux-20100621.tar 

after the ./checkout 

cd to /nios2-linux/linux-2.6 

git checkout test-nios2