Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12600 Discussions

ELF file size issue from Nios II

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I started learning FPGA. Bought MAX10 development kit which has 10M08SAE144C8GESE chip. 

I created basic system using Qsys guide. Imported qip file into Quartus and made a basic bsf file with one LED, Clk and Reset. 

Programmed sof into the kit and it worked. [ Only one LED is ON instead of 5, due to the hardware design ]. 

Now, I wanted to write a 'C' program using Nios II and download into FPGA. I configured only 30kB of on chip memory. [ If I go for 40kB, Quartus giving error as, insufficient memory] 

In Nios-II, i created a bsp for my MAX10 device with only [ small 'c' lib and limited drivers ]. My elf file size is 304kB :( 

so, Can I program my device with NiosII? Bcoz, for a very small program (infact noting in main) itself, 304kB of elf file generated. 

Can some one shed some light regarding this? 

Thanks !
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

What other types of memory ( i.e SDRAM or DDR etc ) are available on your board? You should use that memory as program memory. In that case, you should be able to download 304KB of your code. 

Thanks, 

Bhaumik
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello Bhaumik, 

I was out of town for a week. Thanks for your reply ! 

Am using MAX 10 FPGA (10M08S, 144-EQFP) Evaluation Kit, which dont have external memory. According to kit manual, the FPGA has 378 kilobits (Kb) M9K memory and 32 – 172 (KB) user flash memory. 

I am not sure, whether I can use M9K memory to store the 'C' code output from Nios-II. user flash memory is only 172kB, where as my application code with simple main function is taking 304kB. [ minimal device driver and 'C' lib ]