Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12590 Discussions

Error: Connected system ID hash not found on target at expected base address

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

Usual sentence first: I'm fairly new to FPGA programming, so bear with me.  

I tried to follow the Nios II Hardware Development Tutorial (version 3.0, Dec. 2009) using the latest (v 11.0) tools (Quartus II, Nios II Tools etc.) on Windows 7. 

Everything works relatively smoothly (only problem is a timing issue with the JTAG, which I can't solve but can be ignored if I understand correctly). The .sof is written onto the FPGA. It consists of a cpu, onchip_mem, sysid, led_pio (it's a Cyclone III eval board), sys_clk_timer and a jtag uart. 

The tutorial uses the count_binary sample and everything compiles without error. However, if I try to do Run As -> Nios II Hardware a windows pops open telling me "connected system id hash not found on target at expected base address." 

If I click System ID Properties I get: 

Expected system ID base address: 0x11030 (which is the one in the SOPC builder) 

Expected system ID: 0x0 (which is the one in the SOPC builder) 

connected system id: not found 

Expected system timestamp: 1306314921 

connected system timestamp: not found 

I can see the connected USB-Blaster in the Processors and Byte Stream Devices panel. 

Any suggestions would be much appreciated  

U.
0 Kudos
27 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

In the Target connection check the boxes ignore mismatch id and mismatch time stamp. 

Probably the sysid of ur sopc is not matching with the id in the nios2.It is a common issue. 

Now I am working like that.It does not effect the design.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi,