Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12599 Discussions

FAT filesystem for compact flash

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am using a stratix evaluation board. 

I wanted to create a FAT filesystems on the compact flash onboard. 

Can i do this using the present uclinux port . 

If so what are the steps. 

Tell me the procedure as i am a beginner. 

Even a FAT systems without any OS wouls do.
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

reju_r, 

> Even a FAT systems without any OS wouls do. 

If you only need read access to a FAT filesystem, you could try 

the u-boot boot monitor with FAT support enabled. You could 

also check if Redboot supports FAT. 

Regards, 

--Scott
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

originally posted by reju_r@Nov 4 2004, 01:34 AM 

i am using a stratix evaluation board. 

i wanted to create a fat filesystems on the compact flash onboard. 

can i do this using the present uclinux port . 

if so  what are the steps. 

tell me  the procedure as i am a beginner. 

even a fat systems without any os wouls do. 

--- Quote End ---  

I tried this both on the Altera Stratix board and the Altera Cyclone board with the Quartus project from archive qp.zip. I believe that archive is from Microtronix. It supports pretty much all the hardware on the board. 

Assuming that that you built your NIOS with compact flash support: 

In the NIOS II IDE you add support for the CF filesystem at compile time. It's an item in "Configure Kernal" - check the box for VFAT support. Then build the Kernal and upload it to flash ROM. 

So after you log into uClinux, plug in the CF card. You should get a message similar to this: 

# hda: SanDisk SDCFB-8, CFA DISK drive 

ide0 at 0x80900800-0x80900807,0x80900838 on irq 8 

hda: max request size: 128KiB