Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12600 Discussions

Generate Device Tree Help and kernel compile questions

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks in advance for any help. 

I’m a newbie to NIOS II embedded system design and would like to use the uClinux (version 2.6.38+mmu) running NIOS 2/f processor on my project. I have been following the wiki instruction, and successfully generated the SOPCINFO using the QSYS, and hope it will run on the NEEK development kit (Cyclone III) with the system design contains: 

• NIOS2/f processor with reset vector: 0x02000000 (Ext_Flash), Exception Vector: 0x00200000 (On_Chip_RAM), and MMU Fast TLB Miss Exception Vector: 0x00400000 (On_Chip_RAM)  

• PLL: c0 – 100MHz, c1-100MHz, c2-60MHz  

• Tristate_conduit_bridge  

• Ext_flash  

• Avalong_MM_Pipeline_Bridge (Base Addr: 0x0200_0000 End: 0x03ff_ffff)  

• Avalon_MM_Clock_Crossing_Bridge (Base Addr: 0x0000_1000 End: 0x03ff_ffff)  

• Internal timer (Base Addr: 0x0000_0100 End: 0x0000_011f)  

• Jtag UART (Base Addr: 0x0000_0120 End: 0x0000_0127)  

• Uart_COM RS232 (Base Addr: 0x0000_0140 End: 0x0000_015f)  

My goal is to run the uClinux on the NEEK and understanding the design and implementation process. However, as of now, I am uncertain this will ever boot or successfully load onto the kit. 

Here are my questions: 

1. I got stuck on this failure message using the SOPC2DTS (Thanks Walter Goossens for provided us this Java application.)  

failure message: 

GenericTristateController: ext_flash failed to detect driver type. 

Component ext_flash of class altera_generic_tristate_controller is unknown  

dts memory section: No memory nodes specified. Blindly adding them all 

I have been searching for an answer and find this link permalink.gmane.org/gmane.linux.uclinux.nios2.devel/1135