Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12589 Discussions

How can I read the output register of a IP in C ?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I want to read data from output register of a custom designed IP (added with qsys), to be used on the C code compiled into the board. 

I was assuming that I perhaps could use pointers to access memory address, and fetch data directly. But is this true? Is there instead a function that does this the other way? 

Sorry to ask a question that may sound silly. I'm new to programming on Quartus & embedded. 

Thank you for your time.
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

Yes, you can read the registers from custom components with the help of on chip memory. 

You can have Avalon memory mapped interface in custom design IP so that you can access the registers. 

have a own logic to read and write to and from custom components with help of on chip ram. 

https://www.altera.com/en_us/pdfs/literature/ug/ug_ram_rom.pdf 

Let me know if you need any further assistance. 

Best Regards, 

Anand Raj Shankar 

(This message was posted on behalf of Intel Corporation)
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thank you for the help. Sorry to bring this back up so late - I've been busy doing other stuff for the weeks. 

This is what I'm trying to do right now : 

I'm building up the system on Qsys with Nios2 processor. I'm adding a custom IP with Avalon memory mapped master interface that outputs simple 32-bit data with write signal 32-bit address. 

Then, from my understanding, I can add a 'On-Chip Memory (RAM)', connect the custom IP master to On-Chip Memory's slave. Then I can access the on chip memory data (on C code) by using pointer to the 'Base' memory address (+ 32-bit address data given by custom IP master interface) ?