Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12589 Discussions

How to implement very basic custom QSys component

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I know this question has to have been posted and answered, but I can't find it in a way I can understand and solve my problem. 

My effort is very basic and I'm new to the QSys way of FPGAs. Basically, I'm attempting to flash the LEDs of a De0 Nano from 'C'. 

I've divided the 8 LEDs into 3. 

Led7 is a VHDL heartbeat 

Led6..4 is a software controlled LED set via the standard altera Qsys PIO. 

Led3..0 a software controlled LED set via a custom avalon slave VHDL Qsys module 

Every thing compiles and programs fine. 

Led7, the heartbeat, is working fine. 

Led6..4 is working fine. 

Led3..0, my custom Qsys component, is not working. 

What have I done wrong? What am I missing? 

I've added the following VHDL component. 

ENTITY LGLed IS 

PORT( 

clk : in std_logic; 

reset_n : in std_logic; 

write : in std_logic; 

writedata : in std_logic_vector(7 downto 0); 

leds : out std_logic_vector(3 downto 0) 

); 

END LGLed; 

-- Architecture Body 

ARCHITECTURE synth OF LGLed IS 

signal myleds : std_logic_vector(3 downto 0); 

BEGIN 

process(clk, reset_n) 

begin 

if(reset_n = '0')then 

myleds <= to_stdlogicvector(x"0"); 

else 

if ((write = '1') and rising_edge(clk))then 

myleds <= writedata(3 downto 0); 

end if; 

end if; 

leds <= myleds; 

end process; 

end synth; 

My C code is as follows: 

# include <stdio.h># include "sys/alt_stdio.h"# include "alt_types.h"# include "system.h"# include "altera_avalon_pio_regs.h" 

# define LEDDELAY 125000 

int main() 

{ int n1; 

int cnt=0; 

unsigned char *my_register = (unsigned char*)alt_remap_uncached((void*)LGLED_BASE,sizeof(alt_8)); 

printf("Hello from Nios II!!!!\n"); 

while(1) {