Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12596 Discussions

Is it possible to pass arguments to the main() function in NIOS II SBT

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

Just a generic question. I am using the NIOS II SBT eclipse for an application code and I would like to pass some values to the main() function. 

The syntax for a C program main() function is like: 

int main(int argc, char * argv[]) 

So can I pass the parameters from the NIOS II SBT or from the NIOS II command shell ? ( i am just a beginner in those two) 

Any inputs will be appreciated. 

Thank You, 

Akhil
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You need to ask yourself where any such parameters would actually come from in a 'real' system. 

Remember this is all code that is expected to be loaded at 'boot' time onto an fpga. 

IMHO Altera have added far too much code to give standalone programs what appears to be a POSIX (Unix-like) execution environment. 

This is also responsible for the 'hello world' program being 60+k, not a few 100 bytes.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello dsl, 

Thank you for the reply! 

--- Quote Start ---  

You need to ask yourself where any such parameters would actually come from in a 'real' system. 

Remember this is all code that is expected to be loaded at 'boot' time onto an fpga. 

--- Quote End ---  

Akhil>> Yeah even I have the same thoughts on a real embedded system, where the application code may not need to accept 

any parameters. I am having a software RSA algorithm running on an FPGA board (just to capture the timings). So was just curious about the data which has to be encrypted and that has to be sent to the application code. Never mind, I can generate the data inside the application code itself, it is not a biggy. Thanks!