Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12590 Discussions

Issue with polling in Nios

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I've got a custom component that produces some results from time to time, I want Nios processor to monitor the process by polling and whenever a result is produced, it is written to a external memory. I'm new to Nios and I've got some questions: 

1. I know that I need a flag bit and whenever the result is available the flag should be raised, and I should keep the result available as long as the flag is high however I don't know when I can lower the flag and change the content in the result bits. 

This leads to the next question 

2. If the time gap between the results produced is very small, should I still use polling? Is there any chance a part of the results are missed by the Nios? 

Thanks a lot!
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi 

1. whenever the result is available the flag should be raised.... and after the results is read, lower the flag : your component set the flag when results are available and Nios II reading operation clear the flag. 

2. You should read signals that are asynchronous or that may change their values within a reading operation. So Keep the results until they are read is a good solution.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

It is more usual to use a 'write 1 to clear' action on the status register. 

That way you can to diagnostic reads without clearing the data.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

Hi 

1. whenever the result is available the flag should be raised.... and after the results is read, lower the flag : your component set the flag when results are available and Nios II reading operation clear the flag.