Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12589 Discussions

Just Getting Started: General Questions

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I'm just getting started, I'm new to the Altera Cyclone V SoC, I have some experience with Eclipse (TI OMAP), and I'm far from a C expert. Although my first language was machine code entered through a hex keypad (many, many moons ago). 

I purchased a DE0-Nano-SoC board for home use, its got a Cyclone V (5CSEMA4U23C6) dual Cortex A9. (To get up to speed at Work)! 

I downloaded and installed the "SoCEDSSetup-15.0.1.60-windows.exe" and got a DS-5/Eclipse Ultimate Edition 30 day license. 

I used the "Altera Soc Embedded Design Suite User Guide" to get both a GCC Bare Metal and an ARM Compiler Bare Metal C "Hello World" program running. 

Total success! 

first question: Is the "Altera Edition" just a subset of the "Ultimate Edition" of the toolkit? Cause I'm using the Ultimate Edition and I don't want to be missing anything "Altera" related that's either required or is going to make my life more difficult. 

second question: If money is not an issue (at work), then what are the real differences/pros and cons associated with using the ARM Compiler tool chain as opposed to the GCC tool chain, I mean in terms of capabilities, and things like integration with the Altera Hardware tool suites? Keep in mind that my first deliverable application will be bare metal, after that a commercially available RTOS will be ported and used.