Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12599 Discussions

LVDS error in 18.1 while using Triple Speed Ethernet IP

VRama10
Beginner

Hi,

I'm a beginner with Nios II platform designer. I was using an example project from Intel built for Cyclone 10 GX board using Quartus 17.1. It was working fine.

As I need to integrate this design into a main project that was built using Quartus 18.1, I upgraded all the IP in my platform design to 18.1 which resulted in the following error.

“Error(18694): The reference clock on PLL "sss_qsys_inst|tse_0_tse|tse_mac|i_lvdsio_rx_0|core|arch_inst|internal_pll.pll_inst|altera_lvds_core20_iopll", which feeds an Altera LVDS SERDES IP instance, is not driven by a dedicated reference clock pin from the same bank. Use a dedicated reference clock pin to guarantee meeting the LVDS SERDES IP max data rate specification.”

I understand that it got something to do with the Intel's revision of Quartus 18.1. Kindly let me know how to proceed further with the Triple Speed Ethernet IP in this scenario

Update 1 : I've attached both the project files. First one is for 17.1 and it works. The next one is altered by 18.1 and it's not working.

LVDS Error.png

0 Kudos
12 Replies
SreekumarR_G_Intel
Hello , Sorry.I am bit confused with your input . To make sure , are you using the same design for 17.1 and 18.1 ? from the Error it looks like PLL channel mapping issue. Do you getting this error during fitter right ? Would it possible to share the design if it is not confidential ? that make my life easy :) Thank you , regards, Sree
0 Kudos
VRama10
Beginner

Hi,

Yes, this error was during fitter in the compilation process. I'm using the same design as the one used for 17.1, in fact I loaded the design into 18.1 platform designer and just upgraded the IP, everything else remains the same.