Nios® II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
Announcements
Intel Support hours are Monday-Fridays, 8am-5pm PST, except Holidays. Thanks to our community members who provide support during our down time or before we get to your questions. We appreciate you!

Need Forum Guidance? Click here
Search our FPGA Knowledge Articles here.
12435 Discussions

Looking for HPS to FPGA custom component integrations guideline using Qsys

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am looking for HPS to FPGA custom component integrations guideline using Qsys. I am new to SoC FPGA programming. I still could not found a material or tutorial for HPS to custom VHDL or Verilog component integration. I need to get to know what are the connections that I should make and how to/ where to declare them in C code on ARM processor and the entity of the FPGA custom designed component. Can any body post some links. 

I have read following tutorials. 

Avalon Interface Specifications pdf 

ARM_A9_intro_intelfpga pdf 

Intel_FPGA_Monitor_Program_ARM pdf 

making qsys component pdf 

Using_GIC - ARM HPS pdf 

External_Bus_to_Avalon_Bridge -nios II pdf 

Avalon_to_External_Bus_Bridge nios II pdf 

DE0-Nano-SoC_Computer_ARM pdf
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am also looking for interfacing custom component to HPS. Did you manage to find out the solutions? If yes, I request you to provide the links for the documents. 

Thank you.
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The custom component is quite easy. Did you try to create a custom component and send/receive data with it using NIOS? It should be similar but with small modifications.

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II