Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

Microwindows with ecos

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I am new in microwindos, but I have to evaluate the using of this package for our application so I try to run the ecos_app on the NIOS II demo board.  

First, I created the eCos library for the NIOS II development board with the package NET then I also added the microwindows package.  

The creation of the library seems correct. 

Then I created an application with the ecos_app.c module and I had some definitions for the kbddev mousedev scrdev. 

Compilation seems good also. 

When I run this application, I think the nano-X server is not responding I obtain the message : nxclient: retry connect attempt 1.. 

Thank for your advises.
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Dear GLecordier: 

I am not very sure about the message. 

May be you should create a DUMMY display driver?? 

Best Regards, 

SoG
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Yes,  

I created a srcdev like the one in the scr_debug module  

then a kbddev like the one in the kbd_null.c  

and a mousedev like the one in the mou_null.c  

I added these drivers directly in the ecos_app.c module for this test. 

Today I don’t have any display keyboard or mouse connected.  

It is only to test the difficulty to use microwindows for our application 

But I have always the messages nxclient: retry connect attempt 1.. to 9  

I don’t see if the problem is in the library configuration (I used nios2configtool) or in the application (only the ecos_app.c used) 

Thanks for your help,
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I've been having a play with Microwindows myself recently, and since a few people have asked about it, I thought I'd share my experiences.