Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12600 Discussions

NEEK: U-boot can't access network

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm a newbie to NIOS2 and have been following the Extreme Guide to kiil NEEK with u-boot. 

I'm trying out u-boot 2011.06 building with the 4.1.2 gcc mmu tools from nios2-linux-20100621.tar. 

I have used the NEEK.h and neek_ocm_spi_mmu.h headers for u-boot and the associated cycloneIII_embedded_evaluation_kit_standard.sof from the Extreme webpage. The build succeeds and gives me a 'u-boot' file. 

I then do: 

> nios2-configure-sof cycloneIII_embedded_evaluation_kit_standard.sof 

> nios2-download -g u-boot 

> nios2-terminal 

and see: 

U-Boot 2011.06-svn290 (Sep 26 2011 - 17:55:37) 

CPU : Nios-II 

SYSID : 5f316e28, Mon Oct 05 10:56:53 2009 

BOARD : NEEK 

MMC: 

*** Warning - bad CRC, using default environment 

Net: ETHOC-0 

==> 

Which looks okay. So I continue: 

==> setenv ethaddr 08:00:3e:26:0a:5b 

==> setenv ipaddr x.x.x.x 

==> setenv serverip y.y.y.y 

==> tftp c1000000 neek.bin 

But tftp just times out over and over again. It makes no difference if the Ethernet cable is inserted or not. 

ethoc 

Using ETHOC-0 device 

TFTP from server y.y.y.y; our IP address is x.x.x.x 

Filename 'neek.bin'. 

Load address: 0xc1000000 

Loading: T T T T T T T T T T 

Retry count exceeded; starting again 

The extreme web page has a link for a u-boot elf file, but seems to link to a .gz with a u-boot.bin file in it, so I can't try out any other u-boot build than mine. 

My tftp server is used regularly with u-boot on ARM systems, so I think that is okay. Also 'dhcp' (which works on our ARM systems) never gets an IP address, so I assume this is something more fundamental to the ETHOC MAC driver in u-boot.