Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

NIOS II soft reset

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi i am new to the NIOS II features. I am working on a cyclone V (5CEFA4U19C7) which has a Nios II processor in it. I want to do a soft reset which is, resetting the NIOS without power cycling it. I did the watchdog timer , but I have a doubt in it as to whether the resetrequest signal should be tied to the reset input of the timer block(a pic is attached). Also how do I test the soft reset, coz the document says that the system will reset when the software stops executing normally, how to get this feature to work so that i can test whether the soft reset is working or not. 

Please guide me through this problem. 

Thanks, 

Sid
0 Kudos
3 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Refer to chapter 28 - "Interval Timer Core" of the "embedded peripherals ip user guide (https://www.altera.com/literature/ug/ug_embedded_ip.pdf)". This explains, pretty well, this IP and using it as a watchdog. 

Critically, it states "to prevent an indefinite resetrequest pulse, you are required to connect the resetrequest signal back to the reset input of the timer." So, yes. You're doing the right thing. 

As for a 'soft' reset - this is a soft reset. Simplistically, a reset that doesn't rely on an external hardware event (e.g. power cycle, reset button) is a soft reset. So, providing your Nios restarts when the watchdog goes off, you've proved your soft reset works. 

Cheers, 

Alex
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hey Alex, 

Thanks for clarifying my doubt. I also have another doubt in this. In the document it tells that the system will reset if it stops working properly, how do I test this feature?