Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12600 Discussions

NIOS beginner- interfacing with hardware module

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello! I am an absolute beginner in NIOS and would really appreciate if someone can help me with some advice with the following: 

I have a working hardware module synthesized in FPGA. I actually need to tell the hardware to initiate its process and give me the result once it is done. As usual during pre-silicon phase, I created a testing environment to do this. However now as it is in the hardware, I need to have something else to talk with it. I was planning to make a qsys component of it and interface with a very basic and dumb software which will just give the initiation trigger to my hardware module and once result is ready, it will read it from the hardware. I have only 1-2 days to make this software interface as my project deadline is approaching.  

Hence, if anyone can refer me to any tutorial or any sample program which does the above (I can adapt it for my need) or any advice about how can I start implementing it then it will be really really helpful. I just need to have this software interface just to initiate the process in hardware and get result back once it is done. Btw, I am using stratix V fpga.
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Well, to make it a Qsys component what you would normally do would be to implement an Avalon-MM Slave interface with some control registers, and then create a _sw.tcl and associated .c/.h with a HAL driver to manipulate those control registers.