Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

NIOS2 EDS make error

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I studied using the SOPC builder and NIOS2. I made the projects in both tutorials provided by altera. Along the way, I encountered errors but I searched about them and found solutions. I made the tutorials worked on my board so I decided to try on the tutorial on sd card interface using SOPC builder. At the end part, for the software, I used the HAL device driver but when I compiled it, there were errors. the last lines in my console are as follows: C:\Users\Jackie\Desktop\sdcard\nios\software\sdcar d_bsp/HAL/src/alt_main.c:154: undefined reference to `main' collect2: ld returned 1 exit status make: *** [sdcard.elf] Error 1 Do you have any idea on how to solve this? I already tried running my nios 2 eds as an administrator (from another forum’s answer) but it didn’t help me. THANKS IN ADVANCE!

0 Kudos
5 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

First, avoid using spaces in paths : c:\users\jackie\desktop\sdcard\nios\software\sdcar--> <--d_bsp/hal/src/alt_main.c. (Maybe a error inserted in Copy&Paste to the forum) 

Second, I had faced strange problems where main(), my_function().... were not found. It was because the [/B]files included with# include were bad[/B] (brackets are unbalanced in those files) 

Nios II make outputs in Nios II SBT are ugly to understand. 

Also you may "rebuild indexes", "clean project"... 

SOPC is replaced with QSYS since Quartus version 10. 

But in your screenshot I see "BSP (Board support package)", so you already use QSYS. Maybe the tutorial is for SOPC. It changes the hardware, the linker, but fortunately no big changes for software (just changes like "alt_irq..." to "alt_isr...", they are very similar) 

Regards
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II