Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12596 Discussions

NIOS2 on De2 board - verification failed

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello! 

I'm new to NIOS system programing. I am trying to make simple program based on my altera DE2 board with cyclone 2 ep2c35f672c6n on board. 

#include <stdio.h> #include "system.h" #include "alt_types.h" #include"altera_avalon_pio_regs.h" int main(void) { unsignedchar pom; unsignedchar dygacz=1; int i=0; while(1) { pom=IORD_ALTERA_AVALON_PIO_DATA(PIO_1_BASE); { for(i=0;i<1000*pom;i++); dygacz=dygacz<<1; if(dygacz==0) dygacz=1; IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_PIO_DATA(PIO_0_BASE,dygacz); } }; return 0; }  

As i follow the instructions/tutorials/how to-s im getting to the point of programing the board, however im getting an error message, followed by error popup saying: "downloading elf process failed" 

Using cable "USB-Blaster ", device 1, instance 0x00 Pausing target processor: OK Reading System ID at address 0x01001020: verified Initializing CPU cache (if present) OK Downloading 00800000 ( 0%) Downloaded 19KB in 0.3s (63.3KB/s) Verifying 00800000 ( 0%) Verify failed between address 0x800000 and 0x804943 Leaving target processor paused  

After some diging in the Internet, i'v found how to disable verification. I did it by changing line in nios2-download file  

From eval nios2-gdb-server $arglist 

To eval nios2-gdb-server --no-verify $arglist 

right now, im not getting any error popups and the console log looks like this: 

Using cable "USB-Blaster ", device 1, instance 0x00 Pausing target processor: OK Reading System ID at address 0x01001020: verified Initializing CPU cache (if present) OK Downloading 00800000 ( 0%) Downloaded 19KB in 0.3s (63.3KB/s) Starting processor at address 0x008001C4