Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

Nios II basic

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I am a beginner .I am using Nios II development kit stratix II Ep2s60f672c3n. In the flash memory of board contains nios file.while power on file transfer to fpga... 

It means can I directly program onto nios now??? that is using eclipse.  

or I need to develop nios and programmed onto fpga using sopc builder? 

please reply
0 Kudos
7 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

U have to build the FPGA system using SOPC/QSYS , the NIOS code to interact with the FPGA will have to be done using eclipse 

for ex : to transfer data from NIOS Console to DDR. 

U will have to create a system onchipmemory-DDR controller-DMA etc using SOPC/QSYS and synthesize to get an .sof 

then ur code to sent data to the write /read to the DDR will be a .c file which you have to build using eclipse and get an .elf 

U can flash both .sof n .elf and they would do the respective work.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

so first I have to port nios using sopc builder onto fpga. right? 

Thankyou so much...
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

yes build nios !!!

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I builded Nios using Qsys . generated successfully. but during compilation of nios block in quartus II tool I am getting an error message that  

"Error (12006): Node instance "inst" instantiates undefined entity "my nios"  

what will be the reason. please reply.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Is there really a space there? It shouldn't be a valid name. Your QSYs project should be called "my_nios" and not "my nios".