Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

Nios to Avalon signals

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi,  

My background is VHDL and I am now working with the NIOS processor. I have a Modified simple socket server design witch the IP address and MAC address are written in hard code. I would like to export these signal to the avalon world or out of QSYS so I can store a value in either FPGA registers or and external EEPROM. could some one lead me into the right direction with how this is done. My knowledge of C code is very minimal. 

the files I m editing are the Simple_socket_server.H and Network_utilities.C files 

error_t get_board_mac_addr(unsigned char mac_addr) { error_t error = 0; alt_u32 signature; /* This last_flash_sector region of flash is examined to see if * valid network settings are present, indicated by a signature of 0x00005afe at * the first address of the last flash sector. This hex value is chosen as the * signature since it looks like the english word "SAFE", meaning that it is * safe to use these network address values. */ mac_addr = 0x00; mac_addr = 0x07; mac_addr = 0xed; mac_addr = 0x12; mac_addr = 0x8f; mac_addr = 0xff; if (!error) { printf("Your Ethernet MAC address is %02x:%02x:%02x:%02x:%02x:%02x\n", mac_addr, mac_addr, mac_addr, mac_addr, mac_addr, mac_addr); } return error; 

#define IPADDR0 192# define IPADDR1 168# define IPADDR2 1# define IPADDR3 234 # define GWADDR0 192# define GWADDR1 168# define GWADDR2 1# define GWADDR3 1# define MSKADDR0 255# define MSKADDR1 255# define MSKADDR2 255# define MSKADDR3 0
0 Kudos
1 Reply
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II