Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12599 Discussions

NiosII with Altera SDRAM controller performance

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello All. This is not a question, but just a small thought about NiosII connected to Altera SDRAM controller which may be usefull for everyone I hope. 

I have started a Nios II design with Altera SDRAM controller. As I plan to share the SDRAM with another Master on Avalon MM bus, i tried to look at the data throughput performannce of the SDRAM controller. 

I arrive now at the conclusion that the default connection in SOPC builder or QSYS between even just a NiosII/f and SDRAM controller is far from optimal and that just a few adjustement makes it far better. 

The quick solution, that I have not seen elsewhere (but I am a beginner with NIOS II) is to "show arbitration share" at the SDRAM connection and to set credit to 8 (instead of 1, default value) for both instruction and data master bus of NIOS II connected to SDRAM controller...  

I try a quick explanation on why we should put 8 instead of 1: 

Some of my friends tell me to activate burst in cache properties of NiosII/f to improve performance. Now it seems clear to me that it can make performance even worse. => bad idea. 

After reading all the documentation I have found on SDRAM controller (not a lot of details...), and after having performed some simulations with Modelsim, here is my understanding : 

SDRAM controller is not able to perform burst access on Avalon MM bus (by design). But it is able to perform pipelined read with variable latency which provide actually at least same performance and maybe better than burst access.