Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12600 Discussions

Perl crashing - sof2flash process

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello All! 

I'm a newbie of Altera Forum (and Alter product). 

I'm using Altera DSP Development Board StratixII edition for my master dissertation project and I've encountered a problem. 

My configuration is a Windows Server 2008 R2 64bit on a Dell PowerEdge T110 (Intel Xeon 8 Core) and I'm using QuartusII 9.0. 

I've performed successfully the Nios II Hardware Development Tutorial; at the end of it I would like to program the flesh memory with my .sof binary file. So, at startup, board can be programmed by itself. 

But during the process conversion from .sof to .flash, the perl process crashes. I running it from the NiosII Command shell and, using the Windows task manager, I can recover the bash only manually killing the perl process. 

I have the same problem during compilation on SOPC Builder: the perl process is invoked and never ends. 

Finally, on NiosII shell, just typing "perl" crashes the shell. 

How can I solve this problem? Probably I need to configure something but I don't know what. 

Thank you for everyone who will reply. 

L.
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

two suggestions... 

1. Quartus 9.0 is quite old and is now unsupported. it would be worth trying a newer version 

2. Windows Server has never been officially supported. i've seen it work but also seen issues that i couldn't resolve. there may be some kind of incompatibility with the cygwin back end to the embedded tools and Windows Server. again, trying a newer version might be somewhat more successful
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II