Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12589 Discussions

Problem in registering ISR (C++)

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

HI. 

I'm doing my thesis on a DE2 board. I'm using a NIOS II processor. I've been writing all my source code in C. That way, it worked perfectly.  

I had to ****ch to C++ for a few reasons (which I'm not gonna explain here). The thing is: I have some problems to register an ISR. 

This is the "old" code (which works in C): 

void simpler_isr() { for(j=0; j<3; j++) { store_array = IORD(FULL_CLASIFIER_0_BASE, 0x00); } i++; flag++; } 

and this is the part where I register the isr: 

alt_ic_isr_register(FULL_CLASIFIER_0_IRQ_INTERRUPT_CONTROLLER_ID, FULL_CLASIFIER_0_IRQ, simpler_isr, NULL, 0x0);  

When I tried to compile in C++, I got this error mesage: 

initializing argument 3 of `int alt_ic_isr_register(alt_u32, alt_u32, void (*)(void*), void*, void*)'  

invalid conversion from `void (*)()' to `void (*)(void*)'  

So, I changed the ISR this way: 

void simpler_isr(void*) { for(j=0; j<3; j++) { store_array = IORD(FULL_CLASIFIER_0_BASE, 0x00); } i++; flag++; } 

Now, I get this message: 

Undefined reference to "main" 

I don't know what I'm missing. 

THANKS.
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I respond myself: 

I did a "make clean" and I solve the last problem. Now, I have another one. 

It seems that the ISR registration never occurs. I put a cout next to alt_ic_isr_register, and it never appears on stdout (screen). 

Any suggestions?? 

thanks
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

1. You can "debug" ;-) 

2. stdout = screen ? sure ? Look at if it is not an UART instead of JTAG UART (or the opposite). 

3. Maybe you use light drivers for printf or cout. I don't know the new (since 9.2) NIOS Software Built Tool.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum