Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12600 Discussions

Programming bootROM through USB Blaster II?

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

This may be odd, but I'm fairly new to Altera technology. 

I'm used to creating firmware with AVR32 placing programs into internal Flash of the MCU, 

and I was wondering if there was an equivalent method for doing the same thing with  

the on-chip bootROM of the Altera SoC? 

Can we load our programs into bootROM through the USB Blaster II like Atmel allows with their line of boards? 

None of the Altera software is working on my computers, so I'm trying to create a sort of compiler that 

will read and write to hardware registers directly using a constant pointer like this: 

# define SDR_CTRLCFG (*(volatile uint32_t * const) 0xFFC25000) 

But for each register per component. 

The exact board I have is here: http://www.embest-tech.com/shop/star/lark-board.html 

But none of the companies are offering tech support, not even the manufacturer. 

In all, I have 20 years of programming experience, and this is the first board I've come across that I can't program. 

They didn't even include any bare metal or user space examples files so programming has to occur in pure binary. 

This board is going to fail miserably in the marketplace since they don't want people to program their boards. 

At $800 a board, people should just stick with Atmel boards, they too use ARM Cortex at hundreds of dollars less.  

It is currently useless in it current unprogrammed state without having a way to program firmware or binary programs on it. 

Here's picture of a screenshot showing the SDRAM registers, it's going to be a chore to figure out the order they're written in. 

http://www.alteraforum.com/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=10112&stc=1
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum