Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12589 Discussions

Purchase of New Intel FPGA Development Board

TechDeveloper
Novice

Dear Sir:

I am an FPGA programmer (Xilinx programmer) and I would like to sample the Intel/Altera development IDE.   

I am interested in purchasing a development board.     However, I would like to know what I will receive for my purchase.    

For example, what are the limits of the free software Quartus Prime Lite Software?   

For example:   

I was considering purchasing the  Intel® Cyclone® 10 LP FPGA Evaluation Kit

Cyclone 10 LP Evaluation Kit (intel.com)

However, I read this:

"...Intel MAX 10 FPGA, pre-programmed System Manager ASSP functions (Not programmable by the user)"

Can anyone tell me what "...(Not programmable by the user)" means in terms of software development limits?

Also,  

When I looked at the software examples I noticed that they make reference to Quartus Prime Standard, not "Quartus Prime Lite".  I have linked the webpage.

Design Store for Intel® FPGAs

Will these design examples work using Quartus Prime Lite?

Last question:

I am interested in downloading and using the soft processor Nios II, can I download this soft processor onto this development board and will the Nios II flash programmer work on this board and be able to program an external flash IC that I have interfaced to an external port (assume that the external flash IC is "supported" brand by Intel/Altera)?

Note:  If you don't understand my question, Xilinx offers a soft processor (IP processor that is created by code - not a hardened processor that is composed of semiconductor material),  that the developer can download onto their development board.     I am assuming that the Nios processor is downloadable into the FPGA.

Thank you for your consideration.

0 Kudos
1 Solution