Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12589 Discussions

Question on Git Branches to use [nios2mmu vs unstable-nios2mmu]

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi everyone 

I'm currenlty looking into using Linux on the NIOS for my company. Will be getting a DE4 from Terassic shortly but in the meantime I'm doing all the prepwork to understand as much as possible beforehand. I'm a complete newbie to this whole NIOS/Linux dev so please bear with me... 

I'll be using MMU support. I have been trying the build with MMU support using the following git branches: 

"unstable-nios2mmu" in linux-2.6 

"trunk" in uClinux-dist 

after setting Vendor=>Altera, Product=>nios2 and then defaulting config settings, building the project has always failed. I have followed the alterawiki instructions as I understand them. 

Today after reading the info carefully on this page [alterawiki.com/wiki/Downloading_Linux_Distribution ], specifically the last paragraph, I realised that perphaps the "nios2mmu" branch should be checked out instead of "unstable-nios2mmu" as the shell segment on that page suggests. I then managed to complete a succesful build by again just using default config settings. 

The last paragraph on the index nios/linux webpage [alterawiki.com/wiki/Linux_for_the_Nios_II_Processor] however suggests that the "unstable-nios2mmu" is the branch be used (to get a current build). I appreciate that the "unstable-nios2mmu" branch is at kernel rev 2.6.39 and "nios2mmu" branch at 2.6.35. 

So, my questions are: 

1: Should I be concerned about the "unstable-nios2mmu" branch not compiling 

2: Assuming I can get "unstable-nios2mmu" to compile, which branch is the correct/better one to use 

Cheers 

Tones
0 Kudos
36 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II