Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12596 Discussions

Reading FPGA config & Application from EPCS

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

Bit of a noob here regarding embedded development, so go easy. 

I've been developing some firmware for a device using the NIOS II processor and the device is set up to configure and boot from EPCS. I've implemented the ability to backup and overwrite the FPGA and application configuration from within the firmware, which works fine.  

A new spin of the board however has introduced a much larger EPCS device (2 MiB) which means I have plenty free for general purpose use, which is good. However, when I do a backup of the firmware I really don't want to have to save the whole device, and nor do I want to accidentally store user data over the FPGA config or application binary. 

So my question is this; is there any way I can programatically determine where the application and FPGA configuration end? Or in other words, how can I tell how much space they consume? 

On a related note, once I overwrite the FPGA configuration in EPCS, is there any way to force a reconfiguration and reboot from within the application code?
0 Kudos
2 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

So my question is this; is there any way I can programatically determine where the application and FPGA configuration end? Or in other words, how can I tell how much space they consume? 

--- Quote End ---  

You get this information from the .sof and .elf files you use to program epcs. 

For example you may use this manual procedure: 

1. Convert fpga configuration .sof file into hex 

sof2flash --epcs --input=fpga_project.sof --output=fpga_project.flash 

2. Convert Nios firmware .elf file into hex right after fpga configuration