Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12600 Discussions

SMP support in the Linux System with Nios2

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello all! 

I'm studying a multicore Nios2 system for my thesis. 

After trying with several applications to understand the function of mutex and mailbox, I decided to use also an operative system. Reading some threads, I've downloaded the uClinux to try to build a system with two cpus (cpu1 and cpu2). I'd want to use the cpu1 with linux and the cpu2 as support for some parallel applications. 

Due several issues, I understand (please correct me if I'm saying something wrong) that uClinux does not support smp. 

Is there a method to build a system with two cores wich include an operative system on one of them? If yes, can you tell me if there is a tutorial anywhere? 

I know that the linux kernel 2.6.x supports the smp, so I also thought to try to build a kernel image for the Nios, but in the menuconfig (of a linux kernel, not uClinux) I'm not able to find the architecture for a Nios2.  

Hoping I didn't say too much nonsense, thank you in advance! 

Antonio
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Linux for NIOS does not support SMP and due to the not exiting cache synchronization features of the NIOS CPU (and some other issues) it's impossible to create a decent SMP system with this CPU.  

Of course you can use multiple independent CPUs that don't share memory regions on an Avalon bus. You need to use dedicated "hardware" to allow communication between the CPUs (e.g. FiFos or explicitly not-cached memory regions protected by additional hardware semaphores)  

-Michael
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---