Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

SPI Problems

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I'm trying to get handle with the SPI on a Nios II Core but I don't get it. I have a SPI master and a SPI Slave that I can try to transmit some data from the master to the slave. I connected them with the "loopback board". 

My Code is: 

//Write some data to the Slave IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_SLAVE_SEL(SPI_SLAVE_BASE,0x04); //Check the TRDY bit if data is written(TRDY=0 means it is writing and //TRDY=1 again means the data was written) trdyNumber=(IORD_ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_STATUS(SPI_SLAVE_BASE)& ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_STATUS_TRDY_MSK)>>6; //Read from the register int data=(IORD_ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_RXDATA(SPI_SLAVE_BASE)&0xFF); printf("%d",data); 

I also read the manuel for the SPI Core but it doesn't work. Can somebody help my with an exsample or give me an advice? 

Regards
0 Kudos
22 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Your code contains several mistakes: 

IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_SLAVE_SEL(SPI_SLAVE_BASE,0x04) 

This doesn't write data to the slave, but it selects (enables) slave whose address is 4 for receiving data 

SPI slave is not supposed to transmit data autonomously. It sends data upon  

reception of a master request. 

You both send and receive data on slave. 

I think you meant send with master and receive with slave.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

First thanks! 

And yes I want to send some data from Master to Slave but how? Thats what I don't understand precicely. May you can bring light in the dark.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

The correct procedure is something like this: 

// select slave (not required in single slave system) 

IOWR_ALTERA_AVALON_SPI_SLAVE_SEL(master_base, n_slave); 

// assert CS