Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12600 Discussions

Sending coefficients of degree 1000 from UART to custom logic with Nios II and SOPC.

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, I'm pretty new to all this Nios II development and would like to ask advice on the best solution to my project. 

After receiving coefficients from an UART I have a 2000(GF3 coefficients) char table(within nios ii) that I would like to send to my custom logic input(which is of type std_logic_vector(1999 downto 0) ) and back again after calculating the new coefficients. To better illustrate what I mean I attached a crude picture. 

From what I've read there are 2 options to do this: 

1) Somehow transfer the coefficients from the nios ii block in quartus to my vhdl custom logic, but I can't think of a way to do this with built in IP components(PIO blocks have only max 32 bit length outputs), which draws me to the conclusion that I would need to create a new custom component. Any ideas how to make an component like this as simple as possible? What would I have as inputs and how would I output it(condiut interface)? Generally my plan was to have something like an PIO block except with a 2000 max width output and another 200 width PIO as input from the custom logic after calculating. 

2) Use my custom VHDL logic to create a custom component and use it INSIDE the sopc builder. The problem here is I have no idea what interfaces to use to communicate with the logic, ideally I would like to have an input(std_logic_vector(1999 downto 0) ) and output(the same as input), but from what I tried to do by myself I would also need a clock input(?). Can the nios ii even convert a char table to a std_logic_vector?