Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12589 Discussions

Text file to Flash to VHDL

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello, 

I am trying to access the contents of a text file (full of binary data) via an array in VHDL on my Cyclone II device. I would like to output one bit per clock cycle to one of my FPGA pins, and I don't want to hard-code this into Quartus because the file is very large. 

My plan was to store the file in the Flash memory using Nios Flash Programmer (right after my .sof and .elf file). If I understand all the contents of the Flash memory get loaded into SRAM upon powerup. Could I then read my file contents from SRAM? How quickly could I access the bits (i.e. what is the fastest the clock reading the bits can run at)? And how can I access this from my VHDL files? I am pretty new to this and I couldn't find a tutorial or example on such a topic. Any help would be greatly appreciated... 

The SRAM device is ISSI IS42S16800A-7T and the Flash memory is EPCS16SI8N. 

Thank you!
0 Kudos
10 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

--- Quote Start ---  

If I understand all the contents of the Flash memory get loaded into SRAM upon powerup. Could I then read my file contents from SRAM?  

--- Quote End ---  

That's not correct. Not all the content of flash gets loaded into sram, but only what is needed or, more exactly, what is specified in the bootloader. 

If the text file is included in the Nios application (e.g. in the form of a static const char array, or any other read only data), indeed it will be loaded into sram upon boot and you'll have it available in your code, like a common variable.