Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12600 Discussions

Time-limited OpenCore Plus cores problem

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi,  

I am new to nios2.I am using cyclone 2 fpga starter board ( I am using Quartus2 web edition ).I have tried design example given in the manual of nios2.I was able to complie and simulate my design but when I tried to program my design in fpga, i am getting error like this. 

Info: SRAM Object File C:/Thesis/nios/niosII_hw_dev_tutorial/nios2_quartus2_project_time_limited.sof contains time-limited megafunction that supports OpenCore Plus feature -- Vendor: 0x6AF7, Product: 0x00A2 

Info: Started Programmer operation at Thu Oct 27 14:23:34 2011 

Info: Configuring device index 1 

Info: Device 1 contains JTAG ID code 0x020B30DD 

Info: Configuration succeeded -- 1 device(s) configured 

Info: Successfully performed operation(s) 

Info: Ended Programmer operation at Thu Oct 27 14:23:36 2011 

error: can't communicate with device. device will stop functioning when it reaches its non-tethered mode timeout limit. 

does anyone have solution for my problem?
0 Kudos
6 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Does that error occur immediately after you download using the Quartus programmer? The tools are telling you that you need to keep the programming cable connected as well leave the nag message that pops up on the screen otherwise the hardware will timeout and stop operating. 

If the Nios II core is the only thing in your system requiring a license then you could work around this by switching the cpu to the 'e' core. The e core doesn't require a license and as a result will not cause Quartus II to generate the time limited .sof file. The performance of the 'e' core is much lower than the 'f' core due to the lack of caches and pipeline.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum