Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12600 Discussions

To control LEDs with DE0_Nano

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I wants to control leds on DE0_Nano board using Nios II Eclipse, for this anybody can provide code part?Because im very new to this , sory for lack of knowledge. 

Thanks, 

Alex.
0 Kudos
11 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Create a PIO in your SOPC Builder / QSys project, and in the top level file in Quartus, connect this PIO port to the FPGA pins connected to the leds. 

Then in your Nios II project you will have some macros to control the PIO port, defined in altera_avalon_pio_regs.h.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks for reply, 

But i got the error like 

PIO_LED_BASE undeclared(first use in this), altera_avalon_pio_regs.h:No such file or directory 

make :***[obj/defaults/hello_world.0]Error 

Any ideas? 

Alex.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Do you have a PIO in your SOPC/QSys system? Then the altera_avalon_pio_regs.h include file should automatically be included in the BSP. 

What name did you give your PIO? The name to use is your PIO name, in capital letters, with a _BASE suffix. For example if you called it my_pio, you must use MY_PIO_BASE.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Thanks for prompt response, my PIO name is mismatched,now that problem solved, but when i run the program ,the output is  

[][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][][] like this coming continously. 

Actually i wants to control leds on DE0_Nano board. 

Some times its showed errors also 

make:***[../Helloworld_bsp/-recurs-make-lib 

make[1]:*** [public.mk] Error1 

Thanks, 

Alex. 

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II