Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12589 Discussions

U-boot on NIOS II in SDRAM

Lothar
Beginner

I'm quite new to NIOS II and to this board - Hello everybody!

I did a small NIOS Setup with Qsys (Platform Designer)

- Clock
- NIOS 2
- some on-chip memory
- 64MB SDRAM and ALTPLL
- JTAG UART
...and some "Hello World" examples. It worked out and I could read my "Hello World" outputs on the nios2-terminal.

Now, I'd like to bring U-boot running onto my minimal SDRAM based NIOS Setup. Is this possible?

I neither have flash memory, nor do I want to use any of the HPS Features (such as ethernet connection or UART of my DE1 SoC). I'd like to have U-boot running, and at least show some "Hello" kind of message. Ideally I'd like to use the U-boot shell via JTAG UART (connected via USB Blaster II/USB).

So Far I figured out:

- BSP, Kernel and U-Boot can be build with Buildroot, which also provides me with a Code Sourcery SDK

- Following the U-Boot Documentation I've made a setup derrived from the 10m50 NIOS Example (generated dts from sopcinfo via java tool, board header, u-boot config). I can build U-boot with the SDK

Questions:

1.) Do I need also an SPL? How does the Boot via JTAG work exactly (Document?)

2.) How do I flash my U-Boot to my NIOS 2? Can this be done via nios2-download tool?

3.) What exactly would I need to flash to the NIOS (e.g. U-boot.bin, U-boot with dts, or also with spl)?

4.) Do I need a special format of the U-boot to be able to run it in SDRAM "directly"? I saw, generally one can build a .cpio for ramfs. I'm a bit confused here, how to proceed.

0 Kudos
4 Replies
EricMunYew_C_Intel

Hi, Lothar

May I know which FPGA you are using ? and where do you store your application code ?

Thanks.

Eric

0 Kudos
Lothar1
Beginner

Hi Eric, thank you for trying to help me!