Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

UART Help

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Was doing well in evaluating the IDE/HAL until now. Hit a brick wall going 100mph. I need some pointers on how to read characters from the UART. I tried the example in the Processor Ref handbook, but it won't link. Cant find fopen, fclose, fgetc even though stdio.h is included. Also tried the altera_alt_avalon_uart_read function, but don't understand how to init the alt_fd pointer. I am not a UNIX programmer and this layer of abstraction is confusing to me. Couldn't find any examples. Any help would be great! 

Rick
0 Kudos
15 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi, 

I have used this functions with the uart already and it works fine so far. I have included some more header files and I am not shure, but I thing the "stdlib.h" could be the right one. There are also some properties in the sytem library you can adjust (do not use reduced driver). Take a look in the HAL-driver for the uart, there is a description for a compiler switch you have to use if the uart should work with interrupt. 

The other way is to use the headerfiles from the sdk section with the register and bit definitions, switch the std-in/out/error device in the system library to "none" and use the IORD/IOWR functions with the base address of the "system.h" to read and write to the uart directly (w/wo an interrupt handler you supplied). This will also work fine and this is my prefered way but it is not the "new way" from altera. 

Best regards 

Siegmar
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

RPolicy I agree about the whole confusing part. Sigiz brought up the stuff about std-in/out/error but did you remember to turn those on?