Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12603 Discussions

Unable to do data transfers with altera DMA controller.

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello all, 

I am a beginner just started working on altera fpga devices . I have designed an SoC (see figure) where it has NIOS II , onchip_memory1 and onchip_memory2 ,altera DMA controller and JTAG uart targeting stratix 10 device. 

I am able to do read /write data into each peripheral individually. But the thing is , i am completely unaware of how to transfer data from one peripheral to other peripheral via dma controller. I searched the dma controller document and found the control register , length register, status register , source register and destination register and found their offsets . Accordingly i have written a C code to configure all these registers (see the c code attached) for the dma controller.