Nios® II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
Announcements
Intel Support hours are Monday-Fridays, 8am-5pm PST, except Holidays. Thanks to our community members who provide support during our down time or before we get to your questions. We appreciate you!

Need Forum Guidance? Click here
Search our FPGA Knowledge Articles here.
12434 Discussions

Unable to do data transfers with altera DMA controller.

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hello all, 

I am a beginner just started working on altera fpga devices . I have designed an SoC (see figure) where it has NIOS II , onchip_memory1 and onchip_memory2 ,altera DMA controller and JTAG uart targeting stratix 10 device. 

I am able to do read /write data into each peripheral individually. But the thing is , i am completely unaware of how to transfer data from one peripheral to other peripheral via dma controller. I searched the dma controller document and found the control register , length register, status register , source register and destination register and found their offsets . Accordingly i have written a C code to configure all these registers (see the c code attached) for the dma controller.