Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12589 Discussions

elf size too large for hello world application

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Hi All,  

i am new to Altera's Nios-II, so as usual started with hello world template  

i am able to build it but the elf size is comes about 677274 bytes after applying all the optimizations (according to Nios II software developer's handbook)  

this is too big i guess(for a single printf statement), also the comment in the template specifies it should be ~69KB  

even the single while(1); in main() also building with 660159 elf size. 

My settings for optimizations are : 

enable_light_weight_driver_api CHECKED 

max_file_descriptor 4 

small newlib C CHECKED 

-Os CHECKED 

debug level OFF 

system/timestamp timer NONE 

enable_clean_exit UNCHECKED 

enable_exit UNCHECKED 

disable C++ support CHECKED 

reduced_device_drivers CHECKED 

Also my console shows (after build finished) :  

Info: (hello_world.elf) 1320 Bytes program size (code + initialized data). 

Info: 126 KBytes free for stack + heap. 

but when i look at properties of hello_world.elf OR "ls -l" the directory , it shows size as 677274 

one thing i noticed is it includes hell lot of headers, even though m not using OR disabled support 

can anybody point me, what am i missing
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

Basically printf() pulls in a large amount of library code from libc. 

There is a 'small BSP' template which will give a much smaller image, I think you than have to use alt_printf(). 

If you look carefully at the generated program, you'll find that the actual entry point is alt_main() - which does a load of setup (of stdio etc) before calling your main() function. 

You can avoid most of it by calling your code alt_main() !