Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++
12589 Discussions

how to achieve the communication between niosII system and FPGA module

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I builded a niosII system use the SOPC builder,and now I need to communicates with a FPGA module through the niosII system,How do I achieve it? 

I have search some Information in the Altera website ,and the general ideas to do it is :build a dual-port ram between the niosII system and FPGA module 

But I am a rookie in this Field,I don't know how to do it clearly,is there any one can help me?I appreciate it very much!
0 Kudos
8 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

You can add Avalon bus interface to your FPGA module. Here more details about the bus: http://www.altera.com/literature/manual/mnl_avalon_spec.pdf  

What kind of data do you need to access in your module? It the data volume is low you can simply implement Avalon MM Slave interface and poll periodically the registers from Nios II.
0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

First go to the sopc builder add the desire component like PIO and give it to desire name , and then go to nios-ii processor .v file and add that component in it (take a view of other io, how they are added) and then create new symbol of nios-ii and update it. then you will have that io available at input or output side whatever you select while adding component in sopc. this is the hardware part.

0 Kudos
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

linas: 

thank you for your help,and I still have a question:If I build a dual-port ram use the MageWizard Plug-in manager,how can I conect the nios II system to the dual-port ram 

And the data between niosII system and FPGA module are some 16-bit word data,and each word may Has a different meaning,So I need write each word of data in a different