Nios® V/II Embedded Design Suite (EDS)
Support for Embedded Development Tools, Processors (SoCs and Nios® V/II processor), Embedded Development Suites (EDSs), Boot and Configuration, Operating Systems, C and C++

jtag-uart output incorrectly

Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

hi everyone! 

i am new to altra and nios II, recently i am trying to study altra fpga and nios II, i meet some problems and i need some help 

in my project, i want to use nios II and try to use jtag-uart. i insert a sdram-controller so i can download the code to it. and i make some Constraint to make the sdram work correctly. 

i just want to print "Hello from Nios II! %d\n", timer 

my C program is as follows: 

# include "alt_types.h"# include "altera_avalon_pio_regs.h"# include "sys/alt_irq.h"# include "system.h"# include <stdio.h># include <unistd.h> 

void delay(void); 

int main(void) 

alt_u8 timer = 0; 

printf("Hello from Nios II! %d\n", timer); 

delay(); 

timer++; 

while(1) 

printf("Hello NIOS II!\n"); 

delay(); 

timer++; 

return 0; 

void delay(void) 

alt_u32 i=0; 

while(i < 4000000) 

i++; 

}  

but the result turn out to be very stange, the NIOS II Console shows: 

Hello from Nios II! (this is also wrong because the timer is missing) 

eell rrmmNNoo II  

eell IISSII!! 

HllooNNOO II! 

eell IISSII!! 

i want to upload my project, but it is too big, so i just upload the bsp setting file(i change it to txt) 

thanks!
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Altera_Forum
Honored Contributor II

I guess you are flooding jtag-uart with data and the buffer overflows. 

The printf calls are likely to occur at very high rate, more faster than the jtag-uart driver can process them. 

Infact your delay() implementation will not ensure a predictable delay: it depends from how the while loop gets compiled; it could even be removed by the optimizer, since it has no effects.